Diocese at a Glance

Diocese at a Glance

Bishop - Mar Raphael Thattil.

Vicar General – Msgr. Francis ELuvathingal

Cathedral: St. Alphonsa Cathedral, Kukatpally.

Bishop’s House: St. Mary’s Syro-Malabar Church, Balapur.

Meaning of Shamsha = Sunshine.

Established on 9th October, 2017 by the historical letter of Pope Francis.

Inaugurated on 7th January 2018.

Total Syro-Malabar faithful – c. 1,20,000.

31st Syro-Malabar Eparchy – Geographically the largest in India.

Covers in territory 2/3 of India – spread in 23 states 4 Union Territories including 2 islands.

Coextensive with 87 Latin diocese and 2 Syro-Malankara eparchies.

Divided into 8 regions – Excluding the already existing Syro-Malabar Eparchies.

Southern Region: Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

South-Central Region: Karnataka, Goa & Maharashtra.

Western Region: Gujarat, Rajasthan, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

Central Region: Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh & Odisha.

Northern Region: Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh.

Eastern Region: Bihar, Jharkhand.

North-Eastern Region:  West Bengal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh.

Island Region: Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Several Men and women of various religious congregations working in various parts of the eparchy.